60 second grit test

Are you really a hard worker?

Hard work over talent, right?

I’d say so.

And thankfully hardwork is easier to control than talent.

But how hard working are you really?

Angela Duckworth, the world expert of Grit, has perfected a 60 second survery for you to find out how gritty and hard working you really are.

Give it a shot.                                                                                                

 

Not like me at all

Not much like me

Some-what like me

Mostly like me

Very much like me

New ideas and projects sometimes distract me from previous ones.

5

4

3

2

1

Setbacks don’t discourage me. I don’t give up easily.

1

2

3

4

5

I often set a goal but later choose to pursue a different one.

5

4

3

2

1

I am a hard worker

1

2

3

4

5

I have difficulty maintaining my focus on projects that take more than a few months to complete.

5

4

3

2

1

I finish whatever I begin.

1

2

3

4

5

My interests change from year to year.

5

4

3

2

1

I am diligent. I never give up.

1

2

3

4

5

I have been obsessed with a certain idea or project for a short time but later lost interest.

5

4

3

2

1

I have overcome setbacks to conquer an important challenge.

1

2

3

4

5

Now you may have noticied that those questions don’t necessarily relate to just hard work. That’s because grit is slightly different. It’s not about working hard on 1000 things and never making meaningful progress. Grit is about focusing on the most important tasks and excelling. Getting everything you can and want out of them.

But ok, now add up your total score and divide by 10.

This gives you your grit score. And you can compare yourself against a large sample from Duckworth’s study.

                     Percentile                                                      Grit Score

10%

2.5

20%

3.0

30%

3.3

40%

3.5

50%

3.8

60%

3.9

70%

4.1

80%

4.3

90%

4.5

95%

4.7

99%

4.9

 So how did you do? Hopefully regardless of your final score this has given you something to reflect on. Because as I said before, this is completely in your control.

If you scored low take this as a reminder that you have the power to put your time, energy, and passion into something that drives you and helps you create that grittiness.

Keep working hard everyone! Happy Friday.