college is a rollercoaster

just embrace it

The progression of my mindset through college:

Freshman year- Woooow accounting is awesome, this is fun and easy, and I’m gonna graduate at the top of my class! 🤩🤩

Sophomore year- Cost accounting sucks. Good thing I’m just going to be a soccer coach so I don’t have to worry about this 😌😌

Junior- I’m just having fun until I study abroad next semester. Life is good. I’ll worry about accounting later. 😆😆

Senior- OMG what is going on?!?! People are applying for jobs?!?! my GPA needs to be higher?!?! Real life is coming what am I going to do???? Time to hit the books…. 😨😨

I write this because it’s back-to-school time of year. And I want to show a realistic picture of what the journey as an accounting major could look like.

It’s not all good and its not all bad. There’s ups and downs along the way and that’s to be expected.

There will be doubt and worry, but that will be true with any major. That’s just life. And making that transition to the ‘real world’ is scary. (I’ll write about that in more depth another time)

But whatever your journey is looking like just embrace it. Stay in tune with yourself, and even if you aren’t enthralled by your classes make sure to keep a decent/solid GPA. You won’t regret it when its time to apply for jobs.

Happy back to school everyone!

Have a great semester!