Scary thought:

What happens if I never get my CPA?

Scary thought: What happens if you never get your CPA license?

Despite all the clear benefits of having a CPA license there are still many accountants who decide to never pursue the certification. This slight difference can have drastic changes to your career path and trajectory.

For those working in public accounting, not having your CPA license usually won’t be too much of an issue for the first few years. However, at many firms, especially the Big 4, employees will be unable to be promoted to manager until they have become a CPA. This will halt career progression and create a situation where the employee will need to divert much of their focus to the CPA exam, or be content with their current situation of unpromotable status. Would that bother you? Some people are ok with this career trajectory and some are not. It’s important to know which camp you are in.

If an accountant goes down the path of working for a private company instead of a firm, then they may have a similar situation. They might (emphasis on might) be ok for a few years and won’t be too badly impacted by their lack of license, but when they start getting towards the positions such as; Director of Accounting, Director of Finance, etc. they will most likely struggle to obtain those positions. This is even if they have worked at and been successful at their company for years. Employers value those certifications so the person with the CPA license will always have the upper hand in these situations.

So overall, accountants may be perfectly fine without a CPA license for the first few years of their career. But as they get further along it will most likely create problems with advancement past a certain point. If an accountant is willing and able to obtain their license it is always better to do it sooner rather than later. It will help propel your career further and faster, and will allow you the sense of calm which comes with being done with the CPA exams.

P.S. In my own personal expreince at an accounting firm I have seen multiple cases of people actively choosing not to get their CPA license, to the detriment of their career. I have seen a number of people claim they want to get their license, but never really put in the work to get it done. But only once have I seen someone reach the point in their career where they must become a CPA to be promoted. This person is so close to finally getting it done. But it has taken them a lot of work, at a stage in their career where they already have plenty of that to deal with. I just want to point out that it’s easier to make that decision about becoming a CPA earlier rather than later, but it truly is never too late.

Notes:

  • Happy Halloweekend! Use discount code: “halloweekend” to get 13% off your order! 🕸️

  • CPA Consulting: I may start 1 on 1 CPA exam consulting. I have never done anything like this before so I will not charge a fee until I see the value I can provide. If you are interested in getting personalized advice from me (mainly on your study schedule and study plan) email me at [email protected] and let me know you’d like to hear more.

  • Halloween riddle: (answer below)

    With pointed fangs I sit and wait
    With piercing force, I dole out fate
    Over bloodless victims, I proclaim my might
    I can eternally join with a single bite.
    What am I?

Answer: Dracula or a Stapler

Have a great Halloweekend!🎃🦇