Millions of balls

in your head

Here’s one of my most useful CPA study tricks.

You ever feel like there’s million tiny balls bouncing all over your brain?

That’s how I felt when I was studying for the CPA.

“What’s the difference between an operating lease and a finance lease?” “Did I get my NTS yet?” “What should I study tomorrow?” “Will I even have time to study tomorrow” and so on.

So many things to keep track of. I literally could not contain them all in the filing cabinet of my brain. It was too much.

So I started using a reflection journal. I had a place where every day (or whenever I felt like it) I would brain dump all those thoughts and get them on paper. It was the biggest relief imaginable.

All those balls bouncing around my head were now on paper in front of me. I could review each one individually and answer it on its own.

It was a million times more manageable than trying to figure them out in my head. I felt less stressed and had way more clarity on my situation.

And my reflections were nothing that crazy or elaborate. Here are some examples;

Like I said, nothing crazy. But enough.

The CPA exam can feel like a process where you’re a headless chicken running around with no control at times. This is a great way to restore your sense of calm and control.

If you feel this way, I’d highly recommend giving this a shot.

Good luck with your studies everyone!

-Joey

PS: Thank you to everyone who joined the SmarterCPAs Review! I hope you’ve been loving it!